top of page
  • Writer's pictureElora Gunn

Rejection

Updated: May 12, 2020


There’s this cute boy in my neighborhood. I see him when I go out walking in the mornings, as he’s on his way out the door too. He has the most amazing green eyes I’ve ever seen, they practically glow! And his hair! It’s the kind of jet black you see on models or cartoon characters. I always have to stare as I pass by his house. He doesn’t seem to mind, or really even notice.


I want to go up and meet him, but I’m scared that whoever he lives with will come out and get mad at me. I don’t want to scare him off either by being too forward. What if I try to say hello, and he runs away? I’d feel terrible!


But what if he’s been waiting for me to approach him all this time? How silly will I feel if he is excited to meet me? I can’t put it off any longer!


There he is, sitting on the low garden wall in the sun with his eyes closed. I take a deep breath and walk up the driveway until I’m standing next to him. He blinks open green eyes, probably wondering where his sunlight vanished to.


“Here kitty kitty, pss pss pss.” I hold out a hand towards him, barely breathing as I wait for him to move. A whiskered nose twitches as he sniffs the air, unblinking gaze considering my hand. He stands and stretches slowly, his black coat shining, then takes a step forward.


This is the moment I’ve been dreaming about! He comes up to my hand...and turns to jump off the wall into his garden. The soul-crushing rejection fills my chest. There is nothing worse than being denied petting a cat.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page