top of page
  • Writer's pictureElora Gunn

Metamorphosis: To Ash

Updated: Oct 19, 2021

Update October 2021: Since this story was first posted I've changed and rewritten it as part of a compilation. If you want to read a better version of this story, along with others like it, click the link below for directions on where my chapbook Death of Dreams can be downloaded or purchased.



Rain streaked down my cheeks as I stood still

Staring back across the yard

Yearning for the cage I had freed myself from


Even through the storm I could feel the heat from the fire

Flames licked the building and consumed timber

That once encased me, stunting my growth


Mourning the loss of everything I knew

Knowing I could never go back again

Anxiety for an uncertain future


Mud pooled between my toes as the flames died down

Driven towards the charcoal bed still burning brightly

Back unbent as I watched the red color fade


The coals died hissing as rain choked the life from them

Too much for the sparks to bear

Beautiful in their death throes


With my past turned to ash I rise

Red feathers gleaming and streaming behind me

Muted no longer by dust, I fly!


Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page